SIOUXLAND REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ASSOCIATION (SRTPA)

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Minutes November 8, 2017 1:30 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

John Meis, Chair Curt Miller, Vice Chair Tom Rohe Mark Nahra Brandon Billings Jason Vacura (Substitute for Scott Langel) Jeff Williams City of Cherokee, Iowa Siouxland Regional Transit System Plymouth County, Iowa Woodbury County, Iowa Cherokee County, Iowa City of Le Mars, Iowa Ida County, Iowa

NON-VOTING MEMBERS:

Dakin Schultz

Iowa Department of Transportation

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive DirectorSIMPCOJacob Heil, Regional Planner IISIMPCOGabriel Appiah, Regional Planner ISIMPCOJoe Surdam, Regional Planner ISIMPCOEmily Coppock, Administrative AssistantSIMPCO

The Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) met on Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. in SIMPCO's Meisner Conference Room, 1122 Pierce Street, Sioux City, Iowa.

John Meis, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

I. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u> – Chair Meis asked if there were any additions or corrections to the November 8, 2017 agenda.

Tom Rohe moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Brandon Billings. Motion carried all ayes.

II. <u>Approval of the Minutes</u> – Chair Meis asked if there were any additions or corrections to the September 13, 2017 meeting minutes.

Tom Rohe moved to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Mark Nahra. Motion carried all ayes.

III. <u>**Review Monthly**</u> - Correspondence – Michelle Bostinelos presented pertinent correspondence since the September 13, 2017 TAC meeting.

IV. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u> – Iowa Department of Transportation and member cities and counties updated the TAC on the progress of transportation improvements throughout the region.

V. <u>FY 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments and</u> <u>Administrative Modifications</u> –

- 1. C-66 Bridge over West Fork Little Sioux River in Plymouth County needs to be programed for a total estimated cost of \$1,400,000 with \$1,120,000 Federal participation (BRS) in FY 2018. (TPMS #12726)
- 2. 630th Street Bridge over the Maple River in Cherokee County for a total cost of \$600,000 with \$480,000 Federal participation (BROS) needs to be removed from the program in FY 2018.
- 3. Holstein Trail for a total cost of \$436,000 with \$279,000 Federal participation (TAP) needs to be removed from the program in FY 2018.

Mark Nahra moved to make a positive recommendation to the Policy Board to approve the presented amendments to the TIP, seconded by Brandon Billings. Motion carried all ayes.

VI. Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) and Transportation Alternative Program (TAP) Application Dates – Staff requested the TAC recommend to the Policy Board approval of the distribution of application materials for the FY 2022 Iowa STBG program as January 22, 2018 with applications due back to SIMPCO on February 24, 2018.

Tom Rohe moved to make a positive recommendation to the Policy Board to approve the recommended distribution and due date for the STBG and TAP applications, seconded by Mark Nahra. Motion carried all ayes.

VII. STBG and TAP Application Process – Staff presented the changes to the STBG and TAP application process. Jacob Heil noted the application will now be on the IDOT website. There has also been a TAP application checklist of things that must be included. TAC agreed to remove/change the language in #4 under Final Iowa STBG and TAP Processes.

No action taken. Changes will be made to the language and brought back to the TAC to approve as a recommendation to the policy board at the next TAC meeting.

VIII. Draft Public Participation Plan – Michelle Bostinelos presented the draft Public Participation Plan for review. Michelle asked the TAC to review the draft PPP as the final will be brought back in March to the TAC for approval.

- IX. <u>Comments</u> Next Meeting: January 17, 2018 at 1:30 p.m.
- X. <u>Adjournment</u> Brandon Billings moved to adjourn the TAC meeting, seconded by Jeff Williams. Motion carried. Chair Meis adjourned the meeting at 2:50 p.m.