SIOUXLAND REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ASSOCIATION (SRTPA)

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Minutes January 17, 2018 1:30 p.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

John Meis, Chair Curt Miller, Vice Chair Tom Rohe Mark Nahra Brandon Billings Jason Vacura (Substitute for Scott Langel) Jeff Williams City of Cherokee, Iowa Siouxland Regional Transit System Plymouth County, Iowa Woodbury County, Iowa Cherokee County, Iowa City of Le Mars, Iowa Ida County, Iowa

NON-VOTING MEMBERS:

Dakin Schultz

Iowa Department of Transportation

STAFF PRESENT:

Jacob Heil, Regional Planning DirectorSIMPCOGabriel Appiah, Regional Planner ISIMPCOJoe Surdam, Regional Planner ISIMPCOEmily Coppock, Administrative AssistantSIMPCO

The Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) met on Wednesday, January 17, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. in SIMPCO's Meisner Conference Room, 1122 Pierce Street, Sioux City, Iowa.

John Meis, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

I. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u> – Chair Meis asked if there were any additions or corrections to the January 17, 2018 agenda.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the agenda as presented, seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes.

II. <u>Approval of the Minutes</u> – Chair Meis asked if there were any additions or corrections to the November 8, 2017 meeting minutes.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes.

III. <u>**Review Monthly Correspondence**</u> – Jacob Heil presented pertinent correspondence since the November 8, 2017 TAC meeting.

- IV. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u> Iowa Department of Transportation and member cities and counties updated the TAC on the progress of transportation improvements throughout the region.
- V. <u>FY 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments and</u> <u>Administrative Modifications</u> – Staff asked the TAC to present any amendments or administrative modifications to the FY 2018-2021 TIP. Jacob Heil stated that staff received no correspondence of any amendments. No amendments were presented and no action taken on this item.
- VI. <u>Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) SWAP Policy</u> Staff presented the Iowa DOT SWAP Policy. After reviewing and discussion of the policy the TAC voted.

Mark Nahra moved to participate in the federal-aid swap, seconded by Brandon Billings. Motion carried.

Tom Rohe moved to keep match requirement at 20% up to programmed amount, seconded by Mark Nahra. Motion carried.

Mark Nahra moved to add all farmer-to-markets routes to system eligibility, seconded by Brandon Billings. Motion carried.

VII. Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) and Transportation Alternative Program (TAP) Application Process and Applications – Staff presented the STBG and TAP application and application process. Jacob Heil noted there was some language removed in the application process. TAC mentioned to remove estimated land cost, estimated engineering cost, estimated construction cost, and other cost from the application under item 2. Jacob Heil confirmed he would make the changes to the application.

Jeff Williams moved to approve the process and application with modifications, seconded by Mark Nahra. Motion carried all ayes.

VIII. Officer Elections -

Chair – Curt Miller

Tom Rohe moved to approve Curt Miller as Chair of the SRTPA TAC, seconded John Meis. Motion carried all ayes.

Vice Chair – Tom Rohe

John Meis moved to approve Tom Rohe as Vice Chair of the SRTPA TAC, seconded by Mark Nahra. Motion carried all ayes.

- IX. <u>Additional Comments</u> Next meeting (change): March 7th
- X. <u>Adjournment</u> John Meis moved to adjourn, seconded by Tom Rohe. Newly elected Chair, Curt Miller, adjourned the meeting at 2:15 p.m.