Disaster Assistance & Resources

Our thoughts and prayers are with those affected by the recent severe storms and widespread flooding damage. SIMPCO staff are working to compile resources, updates, and links to official information to aid the region as it starts to rebuild from the recent devastation.

Visit our Disaster Assistance page for the latest information and resources or call 712-279-6286 for assistance.

Governor Noem Signs Emergency Declaration for Storms and Flooding

PIERRE, S.D. – Today, Governor Kristi Noem signed Executive Order 2024-04 declaring an emergency for the recent storms and associated flooding. State agencies have already been responding and will continue assisting local governments throughout the emergency.

“Even though the rain is slowing down, we need to keep vigilant. The worst of the flooding along our rivers will be Monday and Tuesday,” said Governor Kristi Noem. “Check SD511.org for updates on road conditions, and please reach out to your county emergency manager if you have immediate needs.”

The EO also issued a “no boating declaration” on the waters of Lake Alvin in Lincoln County, Lake Henry in Bon Homme County, Marindahl Lake in Yankton County, Menno Lake in Hutchinson County, and Swan Lake in Turner County, South Dakota.

Governor Kim Reynolds ★ Lt. Governor Adam Gregg

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Sunday, June 23, 2024
CONTACT: Kollin Crompton, (515) 745-2840,  Kollin.Crompton@Governor.Iowa.gov

Gov. Reynolds requests expedited Presidential Disaster Declaration for severe storms and widespread flooding
DES MOINES – Gov. Kim Reynolds has requested an expedited Presidential Disaster Declaration for Iowa counties where significant damage was sustained from severe storms and widespread flooding that occurred on June 21 and continuing.

The letter requests activation of the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Individual Assistance Program, and U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) disaster loans for the following nine (9) counties: Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Plymouth and Sioux. In addition, the letter requests the activation of the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance Program for the following twenty-two (22) counties:  Buena Vista, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Floyd, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sioux, Webster, Winnebago, Woodbury, Worth and Wright.

Funding under the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Individual Assistance Program provides disaster-affected homeowners, renters, and businesses access to programs and services to maximize recovery, including assistance with housing, personal property replacement, medical expenses, and legal services.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Loan Program provides homeowners, renters, businesses, and most nonprofit organizations in the affected counties whose property was damaged or destroyed by this disaster, the ability to apply for low-interest disaster loans from the SBA.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency’s (FEMA) Public Assistance program provides funds that can be used to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during, and debris removal after, severe weather.

In addition, the governor requested funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state.

The letter can be read in its entirety here.