Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC)

Wednesday, May 7, 2025, at 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aaron Lincoln, Chair City of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
Tom Rohe, Vice Chair Plymouth County, Iowa

Jason Allen City of Sioux City, Iowa / Transit System

Union County, South Dakota **leff Noteboom** City of Sioux City, Iowa / Airport ` Mike Collett City of North Sioux City, SD Jeff Dooley South Sioux City, NE Lance Hedguist Gordon Phair City of Sioux City, Iowa Woodbury County, Iowa Laura Sievers Andrew Tramp Dakota Dunes CID, SD Jill Wanderscheid City of Sioux City, Iowa

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:

Sarah Tracy

Department of Transportation – IA

Sarah Gilkerson

Chasa Fidebalt

Department of Transportation – SD

Chase EickholtPlymouth County – IAJohn FormanUlteig EngineeringBrad HartmanFelsburg Holt & Ullevig

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director
Brian Pearson, Transit & Facility Director
Corinne Erickson, Regional Planning Manager
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner
Nathan Kistner, Regional Planner
Bess Seaman, Regional Planner
Emily Guthrie, Executive Assistant
SIMPCO
SIMPCO
SIMPCO
SIMPCO

The TTC met on Wednesday, May 7, 2025, 1:30 p.m., via in person, at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, and via zoom. A quorum was present. Chair Aaron Lincoln called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- **I.** Roll Call/Introductions: Chair Aaron Lincoln opened the meeting with a roll call.
- **II.** Approval of the Agenda: Chair Aaron Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting agenda of May 7, 2025.

Laura Sievers moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Motion carried with all ayes.

III. Approval of the Minutes: Chair Aaron Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the regular meeting minutes of March 5, 2025.

Tom Rohe moved to approve of the meeting minutes presented, seconded by Lance Hedguist. Motion carried with all ayes.

- **IV.** Review Monthly Correspondence: Corinne Erickson provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report:</u> Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
 - SD DOT requested a special meeting to propose a TIP amendment to Policy Board. There were some changes to the funding amounts on the Dakota Dunes multi-use trail project and the SD DOT has asked us to get those approved before the May 21 letting date.
- VI. FY 2026- 2029 Draft MPO Transportation Improvement Program (TIP):

 Ryan Bauer presented TCC the FY 2026- 2029 Draft MPO Transportation

 Improvement Program (TIP) for review and comment on or before June 6, 2025.

 Michelle noted that a public input meeting is scheduled for June 10th at SIMPCO.

 Following the public input meeting, final approval will be requested from TTC at the next meeting.
- VII. Resolution 2025 12 FY 26 MPO Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP):

 Michelle Bostinelos presented for approval final MPO TPWP FY 26 in conformance with the Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and each state's Department of Transportation. Michelle mentioned that no public comment were received following the changes made during the draft review at the last meeting in March.
 - Jason Allen and Jeff Dooley left meeting.

Mike Collett motioned to approve the final MPO TPWP FY 26. The motion was seconded by Gordon Phair. Roll call vote: Aaron Lincoln: aye; Jeff Noteboom: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Lance Hedquist: aye; Gordon Phair: aye; Laura Sievers: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Motion passed (8:0).

VIII. <u>2050 Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) Inflation Rates</u>: Michelle requested MPO members determine an inflation rate to use on projects with the LRTP. Michelle noted the last Long Range Transportation Plan was an inflation rate of 4%.

Lance Hedquist motioned to approve 4% for expenditure and 2% for revenue. The motion was seconded by Mike Collett. Motion carried with all ayes

IX. FY 2026 Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) and Policy Board Meeting Dates
Michelle presented the FY 2026 TTC and Policy Board meeting dates.

Gordon Phair motioned to approve meeting dates. The motion was seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried with all ayes.

X. Additional Comments:

- TIP Public Meeting: Tuesday, June 10, 2025 SIMPCO Training Room 4:00 5:00p.m.
- Next Meeting Wednesday, June 25, 2025, at 1:30 p.m.
- **XI.** Adjournment: Gordon Phair moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Tom Rohe. Chair Aaron Lincoln closed the meeting at 2:37 p.m.