Minutes

SIOUXLAND REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ASSOCIATION (SRTPA) Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Wednesday, March 15, 2023, 1:30 p.m. 1122 Pierce Street, Sioux City, IA

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Jeff Williams, Chair Ida County, Iowa

Tom Rohe, Vice Chair Plymouth County, Iowa John Meis City of Cherokee, Iowa

Curt Miller Siouxland Regional Transit System

Sarah Tracy Cherokee County, Iowa Jason Vacura City of Le Mars, Iowa

NON-MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:

Dakin Schultz Iowa Department of Transportation
Daniel Nguyen Federal Transit Administration

Kelly Puhrmann Cherokee County

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director SIMPCO Erin Berzina, Regional Planning Director SIMPCO

Brian Pearson, Assistant Transit Director SIMPCO/SRTS

Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner SIMPCO
Corinne Erickson, Regional Planner SIMPCO
Emily Coppock, Administrative Assistant SIMPCO

The Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association (SRTPA) Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) met on Wednesday, March 15, 2023, 1:30 p.m., in person at 1122 Pierce Street and virtually via Zoom.

Chair Jeff Williams called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. A quorum was present.

I. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u>: Chair Williams asked if there were any additions or corrections to the March 15, 2023, regular meeting agenda.

Tom Rohe moved to approve the meeting agenda as presented, seconded by John Meis. Motion carried with all ayes.

II. <u>Approval of the Minutes</u>: Chair Williams asked if there were any additions or corrections to the January 11, 2023, regular meeting minutes.

Sarah Tracy moved to approve the regular meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes.

- III. <u>Review Monthly Correspondence</u>: Erin Berzina discussed projects and activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet since the January 11, 2023, meeting.
- IV. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: SRTPA TAC voting and non-voting members and guests provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the region.
- V. <u>FY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments and Administrative Modifications</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendment to the FY 2023-2026 TIP. No other amendments were brought forward at this meeting.
 - 1. Siouxland Regional Transit System needs to program a NEW Bus Wash system for new SRTS building for a total estimated cost of \$600,000 with \$480,000 state participation (PTIG) in FY 2023.

Curt Miller moved to approve the amendment presented, seconded by John Meis. Motion carried all ayes.

VI. <u>FY 2027 Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) balance and applications</u>: Staff presented the STBG balance and applications for review and recommendation to the Policy Board. Staff noted the TAP program is still on hold per funds not yet available yet to apply.

SIMPCO Planning: Mark Nahra moved to approve funding for SIMPCO planning for FY 2027 for a total requested amount of \$46,800. Motion seconded by Sarah Tracy. Motion carried all ayes.

City of Cherokee, N. 11th Street Construction Project & Plymouth County, K-22 project:Mark Nahra moved to fund the City of Cherokee concrete overlay of N. 11th Street for the total requested amount of \$873,600 in Federal funds and for the Plymouth County project from Hwy 3 north to the Plymouth/Sioux County line for the total requested amount of \$1,820,000 in Federal funds. Motion seconded by Sarah Tracy. Motion carried all ayes.

Woodbury County, K-22 resurfacing: Tom Rohe moved to approve the Woodbury County, k-22 resurfacing project of Old Hwy75/K45 for \$1.5 million Federal funds and allocate the leftover STBG balance of \$103,000 for a total of \$1,603,000 in Federal funds. Motion seconded by John Meis. Motion carried all ayes.

VII. <u>FY 2024 Draft Transportation Planning Work Program</u>: Erin Berzina presented the draft FY 2024 TPWP in conformance with the Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and each state's Department of Transportation. Erin noted the final plan will be brought back for approval at the May 2023 meeting.

- VIII. Additional Comments: Next meeting May 10, 2023 at 1:30 p.m.
- IX. <u>Adjournment</u>: John Meis moved to adjourn, seconded by Curt Miller. Chair Williams adjourned the meeting at 2:15 p.m.