Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) Wednesday, May 3, 2023, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO office, 1122 Pierce Street, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Dave Carney, Chair Jill Wanderscheid Mike Collett Aaron Lincoln Jeff Dooley Jason Allen Lance Hedquist Mark Nahra Jerry Buum Eric Christensen City of Sioux City, Iowa City of Sioux City, Iowa City of Sioux City, Iowa/Airport City of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa Dakota Dunes CID, South Dakota City of Sioux City, IA / Transit System City of South Sioux City, Nebraska Woodbury County, Iowa Union County, Iowa City of North Sioux City, South Dakota

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:

Dakin Schultz Sarah Gilkerson Craig Wacker Daniel Nguyen

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director Erin Berzina, Regional Planning Director Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner Corinne Erickson, Regional Planner Emily Coppock, Administrative Assistant Iowa Dept. of Transportation South Dakota Dept. of Transportation Nebraska Dept. of Transportation Federal Transit Administration

SIMPCO	
SIMPCO	
SIMPCO	
SIMPCO	
SIMPCO	

The TTC met on Wednesday, May 3, 2023, 1:30 p.m., via in person and zoom. A quorum was present. Chair Carney called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. Introductions: Chair Carney opened the meeting with a roll call.
- II. <u>Approval of the Agenda:</u> Chair Carney asked if there were any additions or corrections to the May 3, 2023, regular meeting agenda.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Aaron Lincoln. Motion carried all ayes.

III. <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Carney asked if there were any additions or corrections to the March 1, 2023, regular meeting minutes.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Jason Allen. Motion carried.

- IV. <u>Review Monthly Correspondence:</u> Erin Berzina provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendment</u>: Staff presented the following amendment to the FY 2023-2026 TIP.
 - 1. Military Road Project in North Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$4,285,220 with \$3,428,176 Federal participation (Consolidated Appropriations Act) in FY 24.
 - 2. Update to the Statewide Strategic Highway Safety Plan for the South Dakota DOT needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$424,000 with \$382,000 Federal participation in FY 24.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Jill Wanderscheid. Motion carried all ayes.

- VII. <u>FY 2024-2027 Draft MPO Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)</u>: Staff will present the draft MPO TIP FY 2024-2027 draft MPO TIP to the TTC. Staff asked the TTC to review the draft TIP and submit any necessary corrections or changes to staff on or before June 2, 2023.
- VIII. <u>Resolution 2023-10 FY 24 MPO Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP)</u>: Staff presented the MPO TPWP FY 2024 in conformance with Federal Highway Administration, Federal Transit Administration, and each state's Department of Transportation.

Aaron Lincoln moved Resolution 2023-10 as presented, seconded by Mark Nahra. Roll call vote: Dave Carney: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Aaron Lincoln: aye; Jeff Dooley: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Lance Hedquist: aye; Mark Nahra: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Erick Christensen: aye. Motion carried. (10:0)

- IX. <u>Draft 2045 Long Range Transportation Plan Amendments</u>: Staff presented the following draft amendment to the MPP LRTP.
 - 1. Westside Trail in South Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$1,417,500 with \$437,400 Federal participation (TAP) in the FY 2021-2024 time-band. (Addition)
- X. <u>Draft Public Participation Plan (PPP)</u>: Staff presented the draft PPP for review and comment.
- XI. <u>FY 2024 Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) and Policy Board Meeting Dates</u>: Staff presented the FY 2024 TTC and Policy Board dates for approval.

Aaron Lincoln moved to approve the meeting dates presented, seconded by Eric Christensen. Motion carried all ayes.

XII. Additional Comments

XIII. <u>Adjournment:</u> Mark Nahra moved to adjourn, seconded by Aaron Lincoln. Chair Carney adjourned the meeting.