### Minutes

# SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) Wednesday, June 28, 2023, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO office, 1122 Pierce Street, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Dave Carney, Chair Tom Rohe, Vice Chair Jill Wanderscheid Mike Collett Aaron Lincoln Jeff Dooley Jason Allen Jerry Buum Eric Christensen Bob Kratky City of Sioux City, Iowa Plymouth County, Iowa City of Sioux City, Iowa City of Sioux City, Iowa/Airport City of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa Dakota Dunes CID, South Dakota City of Sioux City, IA / Transit System Union County, Iowa City of North Sioux City, South Dakota City of Dakota City, Nebraska

#### **NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:**

Dakin Schultz Sarah Gilkerson Larry Dean Craig Wacker Greg Heitmann Jessica Smith

# **STAFF PRESENT:**

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director Brian Pearson, Transit Director Erin Berzina, Regional Planning Director Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner Emily Coppock, Administrative Assistant Department of Transportation - IA Department of Transportation - SD Department of Transportation - SD Department of Transportation - NE Federal Highway Administration - SD Benesch

SIMPCO SIMPCO/SRTS SIMPCO SIMPCO SIMPCO

The TTC met on Wednesday, June 28, 2023, 1:30 p.m., via in person and zoom. A quorum was present. Chair Carney called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. Introductions: Chair Carney opened the meeting with a roll call.
- II. <u>Approval of the Agenda:</u> Chair Carney asked if there were any additions or corrections to the June 28, 2023, regular meeting agenda.

Jason Allen moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Jill Wanderscheid. Motion carried all ayes.

III. <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Carney asked if there were any additions or corrections to the May 3, 2023, regular meeting minutes.

Jason Allen moved to approve the meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Eric Christensen. Motion carried.

- IV. <u>Review Monthly Correspondence:</u> Erin Berzina provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>Resolution 2024-1 Approval of the FY 2024-2027 MPO Transportation Improvement</u> <u>Program (TIP)</u>: Ryan Brauer presented the final FY 2024-2027 TIP with noted language changes from the last meeting. Ryan asked for a positive recommendation from the TTC.

Jason Allen moved to approve Resolution 2024-1 as presented, seconded by Eric Christensen. Roll call vote: Dave Carney: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Aaron Lincoln: aye; Jeff Dooley: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion carried (10:0).

VII. <u>Resolution 2024-2 Self-Certification of the MPO Transportation Planning Process:</u> Michelle Bostinelos presented Resolution 2024-2 for positive recommendation from the TTC. Michelle noted this resolution certifies that the planning process in the Sioux City metro planning area is being carried on in conformance with all applicable Federal requirements.

Jill Wanderscheid moved to approve Resolution 2024-2 as presented, seconded by Jason Allen. Roll call vote: Dave Carney: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Aaron Lincoln: aye; Jeff Dooley: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion carried (10:0).

VIII. <u>Resolution 2024-3 Project Development Sioux City Transit System</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented Resolution 2024-3 for positive recommendation from the TTC. Michelle noted this resolution certifies that the City of Sioux City/Transit System has fulfilled their planning obligations in the development of the TIP.

Mike Collett moved to approve Resolution 2024-3 as presented, seconded by Eric Christensen. Roll call vote: Dave Carney: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Aaron Lincoln: aye; Jeff Dooley: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion carried (10:0).

IX. <u>Resolution 2024-4 Certification of Compliance: Statement of Financial Capacity Analysis:</u> Michelle Bostinelos presented Resolution 2024-4 for positive recommendation from the TTC. Michelle noted this resolution certifies that the MPO Transportation Improvement Program FY 2024-2027 for the Sioux City metro area is prepared in accordance with the requirement of the Federal Transit Administration (FTA). Mike Collett moved to approve Resolution 2024-4 as presented, seconded by Aaron Lincoln. Roll call vote: Dave Carney: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Aaron Lincoln: aye; Jeff Dooley: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion carried (10:0).

- X. <u>Resolution 2024-5 2045 Long Range Transportation Plan Amendment</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented Resolution 2024-5 for positive recommendation from the TTC. Michelle noted this resolution is for the following amendment to the 2045 LRTP.
  - 1. Westside Trail in South Sioux City needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$1,417,500 with \$437,400 Federal participation (TAP) in the FY 2021-2024-time-band. (Addition)

Aaron Lincoln moved to approve Resolution 2024-5 as presented, seconded by Jason Allen. Roll call vote: Dave Carney: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Aaron Lincoln: aye; Jeff Dooley: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion carried (10:0).

XI. <u>Resolution 2024-6 Public Participation Plan</u>: Ryan Brauer presented Resolution 2024-6 for positive recommendation from the TTC. Ryan noted this resolution is to approve the final PPP and reported on language changes made to the document from the last meeting.

Eric Christensen moved to approve Resolution 2024-6 as presented, seconded by Jason Allen. Roll call vote: Dave Carney: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Aaron Lincoln: aye; Jeff Dooley: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye; Bob Kratky: aye. Motion carried (10:0).

- XII. <u>Additional Comments</u>: Next meeting Wednesday, September 6, 2023, at 1:30 p.m. at the Iowa DOT.
- XIII. <u>Adjournment:</u> Eric Christensen moved to adjourn, seconded by Jason Allen. The chair closed the meeting at 2:25 p.m.