Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO)

Policy Board

Thursday, June 29, 2023, 1:30 p.m.
SIMPCO Office, 1122 Pierce Street, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ken Beaulieu. Chair Dakota Dunes CID. SD Mike Tokarczyk Sioux City Transit System Carol Schuldt City of South Sioux City, NE Plymouth County, IA Craig Anderson Mike Dailey Union County, IA Keith Radig Woodbury County, IA Dan Moore City of Sioux City, IA City of Sioux City, IA Julie Schoenherr Dakota City, NE **Bob Giese**

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT & GUESTS:

Dakin SchultzDepartment of Transportation - IASarah GilkersonDepartment of Transportation - SDLarry DeanDepartment of Transportation - SDGreg HeitmannFederal Highway Administration - SD

Wes Fopma Congressman Feenstra

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director
Erin Berzina, Regional Planning Director
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner
Emily Guthrie, Administrative Assistant II
SIMPCO
SIMPCO

The MPO Policy Board met on Thursday, June 29, 2023, 1:30 p.m., via Zoom and in person at the SIMPCO office. A quorum was present. Chair Ken Beaulieu called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. Roll Call: Chair Beaulieu opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.
- II. <u>Approval of the Agenda:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the June 29, 2023, regular meeting agenda.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the agenda with corrections, seconded by Dan Moore. Motion carried all ayes.

III. <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the May 4, 2023, regular meeting minutes.

- Dan Moore moved to approve the minutes presented, seconded by Mike Daily. Motion carried all aves.
- IV. <u>Review Monthly Correspondence:</u> Erin Berzina provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: The Iowa Department of Transportation and members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. Resolution 2024-1 approval of the FY 2024-2027 MPO Transportation Improvement
 Program (TIP): Ryan Brauer presented the final FY 2024-2027 TIP. Ryan reported
 changes made to the document since the last Policy Board meeting. Ryan noted that
 the TTC made a position recommendation for approval.

Dan Moore moved to approve Resolution 2024-1 as presented, seconded by Craig Anderson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Bob Giese: aye. Motion carried (9:0).

VII. Resolution 2024-2 Self-Certification of the MPO Transportation Planning Process:

Michelle Bostinelos presented Resolution 2024-2 noting that this resolution certifies that the planning process in the Sioux City metro planning area is being carried out in conformance with all applicable Federal requirements. Michelle noted that the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Julie Schoenherr moved to approve Resolution 2024-2 as presented, seconded by Carol Schuldt. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Bob Giese: aye. Motion carried (9:0).

VIII. Resolution 2024-3 Project Development Sioux City Transit System: Michelle presented Resolution 2024-3 noting that this resolution certifies that the City of Sioux City/Transit System has fulfilled their planning obligations in the development of the TIP. Michelle noted that the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Dan Moore moved to approve Resolution 2024-3 as presented, seconded by Craig Anderson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Bob Giese: aye. Motion carried (9:0).

IX. Resolution 2024-4 Certification of Compliance: Statement of Financial Capacity Analysis: Michelle Bostinelos presented Resolution 2024-4 noting that this resolution certifies that the MPO Transportation Improvement Program FY 2024-2027 for the Sioux City metro area is prepared in accordance with the requirements of the Federal Transit Administration (FTA). Michelle noted that the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Mike Dailey moved to approve Resolution 2024-4 as presented, seconded by Julie Schoenherr. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Bob Giese: aye. Motion carried (9:0).

- X. Resolution 2024-5 2045 Long Range Transportation Plan Amendment: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendment to the 20245 LRTP. Michelle noted the TTC made a position recommendation for approval.
 - a. Westside Trail in South Sioux city needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$1,417,500 with \$437,400 Federal participation (TAP) in the FY 2021-2024 time-band. (Addition)

Dan Moore moved to approve Resolution 2024-5 as presented, seconded by Craig Anderson. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Bob Giese: aye. Motion carried (9:0).

XI. <u>Resolution 2024-6 Public Participation Plan</u>: Ryan Brauer presented the final Public Participation Plan for approval. Ryan noted the TTC made a position recommendation for approval.

Craig Anderson moved to approve Resolution 2024-6 as presented, seconded by Julie Schoenherr. Roll call vote: Ken Beaulieu: aye; Mike Tokarczyk: aye; Carol Schuldt: aye; Craig Anderson: aye; Mike Dailey: aye; Keith Radig: aye; Dan Moore: aye; Julie Schoenherr: aye; Bob Giese: aye. Motion carried (9:0).

- XII. Additional Comments: Next meeting September 7, 2023, at 1:30 p.m. at the lowa DOT
- XIII. <u>Adjournment</u>: Craig Anderson moved to adjourn, seconded by Mike Dailey. The chair adjourned the meeting.