Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) Wednesday, September 6, 2023, 1:30 p.m. IDOT, 6409 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Gordon Phair (Substitute for Dave Carney) Tom Rohe, Vice Chair Jill Wanderscheid Mike Collett Andrew Tramp Jason Allen Jerry Buum Eric Christensen City of Sioux City, Iowa Plymouth County, Iowa City of Sioux City, Iowa City of Sioux City, Iowa/Airport Dakota Dunes CID, South Dakota City of Sioux City, IA / Transit System Union County, Iowa City of North Sioux City, South Dakota

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:

Dakin Schultz Sarah Gilkerson Larry Dean Greg Heitmann Department of Transportation - IA Department of Transportation - SD Department of Transportation - SD Federal Highway Administration - SD

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director	SIMPCO
Erin Berzina, Regional Planning Director	SIMPCO
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner	SIMPCO
Corinne Erickson, Regional Planner	SIMPCO
Emily Guthrie, Administrative Assistant	SIMPCO

The TTC met on Wednesday, September 6, 2023, 1:30 p.m., via in person and zoom. A quorum was present. Vice Chair, Tom Rohe, called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. <u>Introductions:</u> vice Chair, Rohe, opened the meeting with a roll call.
- II. <u>Approval of the Agenda:</u> Vice Chair, Rohe, asked if there were any additions or corrections to the September 6, 2023, regular meeting agenda.

Jill Wanderscheid moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Motion carried all ayes.

III. <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Vice Chair, Rohe, asked if there were any additions or corrections to the June 28, 2023, regular meeting minutes.

Eric Christensen moved to approve the meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Motion carried.

- **IV.** <u>Review Monthly Correspondence:</u> Erin Berzina provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report:</u> Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>Resolution 2024-7 FY 2024 Transportation Planning Work Program (TPWP) Amendment</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the TTC with an amendment to the FY 2024 TPWP to include the programming of FTA 5305d carryover and FHWA PL carryover funds for Iowa.

Mike Collett moved to approve Resolution 2024-7, seconded by Jill Wanderscheid. Roll call vote: Gordon Phair: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye. Motion carried (8:0).

- VII. <u>FY 2023-2026 transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendments to the FY 2023-2026 TIP.
 - 1. Iowa DOT Highway 12 from Military Road in Sioux City to south of junction Iowa Highway 3 \$1,215,000 with \$972,000 Federal participation (NHPP) in FY 2023.

Jill Wanderscheid moved to approve #1 amendment as presented, seconded by Eric Christensen. Motion carried all ayes.

2. South Dakota DOT I29 north from Exit 2 to the NCL of North Sioux City, I29 South from north of Exit 1 to the NCL of North Sioux City, mill/ac resurfacing of shoulders, modify northbound off ramp, and lighting needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$2,300,000 with \$2,270,000 Federal participation (IM) in FY 2023.

Gordon Phair moved to approve #2 amendment as presented, seconded by Eric Christensen. Motion carried. All ayes.

3. South Dakota DOT I29 in North Sioux City, mill/ac resurfacing needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$300,000 with \$246,000 Federal participation in FY 2023.

Gordon Phair moved to approve #3 amendment as presented, seconded by Eric Christensen. Motion carried. All ayes.

- VIII. <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendments to the FY 2024-2027 TIP.
 - 1. Sioux City Transit System Mobile Fare Collection needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$400,000 with \$320,000 Federal participation.

Jill Wanderscheid moved to approve #1 amendment as presented, seconded by Mike Collett. Motion carried all ayes.

2. Sergeant Bluff, Loess hills Scenic Trail (Phase 1) along Old Lakeport Road from 1st Street to South Ridge Road and along Baker Drive from 1st Street to Baker Park for a total estimated cost of \$536,500 with \$107,300 Federal participation (TAP) in FY 2024.

Gordon Phair moved to approve #2 amendment as presented, seconded by Mike Collett. Motion carried all ayes.

3. Sioux City, Loess Hills Scenic Trail (Phase2) along Old Lakeport Road from South Ridge Road to 375' south of Bristol Drive and from Green Valley Golf Course to Old Lakeport Road for a total estimated cost of \$654,000 with \$139,600 Federal participation (TAP) in FY 2024.

Gordon Phair moved to approve #3 amendment as presented, seconded by Jill Wanderscheid. Motion carried all ayes.

IX. <u>Resolution 2024-8 Urban Area Boundary Adjustment (UAB) Iowa</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the TTC with Resolution 2024-8 for approval adopting the adjusted Urbanized Area Boundary for the Iowa portion of the SIMPCO MPO.

Mike Collett moved to approve Resolution 2024-8, seconded by Jason Allen. Roll call vote: Gordon Phair: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye. Motion carried (8:0).

X. <u>Resolution 2024-9 Urban Area Boundary Adjustment (UAB) South Dakota</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the TTC with Resolution 2024-9 for approval adopting the adjusted Urbanized Area Boundary for the South Dakota portion of the SIMPCO MPO.

Gordon Phair moved to approve Resolution 2024-9, seconded by Jill Wanderscheid. Roll call vote: Gordon Phair: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye. Motion carried (8:0).

XI. <u>Resolution 2024-10 Federal Functional Classification (FFC) updates for South Dakota</u>: Michelle Bostinelos and Larry Dean, from the SDDOT, presented updates to the FFC for the South Dakota portion of the SIMPCO MPO. The SDDOT noted verification of all roadway mileage for the FHWA defined Sioux City Urbanized Area boundary within the MPO and recommended that changes be made to specific roadways based upon functional classification standards as prescribed by the FHWA.

Jill Wanderscheid moved to approve Resolution 2024-10, seconded by Eric Christensen. Roll call vote: Gordon Phair: aye; Tom Rohe: aye; Jill Wanderscheid: aye; Mike Collett: aye; Andrew Tramp: aye; Jason Allen: aye; Jerry Buum: aye; Eric Christensen: aye. Motion carried (8:0).

XII. <u>Officer Elections</u>: MPO TTC nomination and election of a new TTC chair.

Mike Collett moved to nominate and elect Aaron Lincoln as new TTC chair, seconded by Eric Christensen. Motion carried all ayes.

XIII. Additional Comments:

- SIMPCO/SRTS Building Dedication October 20, 2023 (6401 Gordon Drive)
- MPO TTC Wednesday, November 1, 2023 (6401 Gordon Drive)
- **XIV.** <u>Adjournment</u>: Gordon Phair moved to adjourn, seconded by Eric Christensen. Vice Chair, Rohe, adjourned at 2:25 p.m.