SIOUXLAND REGIONAL TRANSPORTATION PLANNING ASSOCIATION (SRTPA)

Policy Board Minutes Thursday, November 16, 2023, 9:30 a.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Gary Horton, Chair

Devlun Whiteing

Mike Donlin

Vince Phillips

Bryan Petersen

Craig Schmidt

Plymouth County, Iowa

Ida County, Iowa

Oity of Le Mars, Iowa

Monona County, Iowa

Cherokee County, Iowa

City of Cherokee, Iowa

NON-VOTING MEMBERS/GUESTS:

Dakin Schultz Iowa Dept. of Transportation Wes Fopma Congressman Feenstra

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director
Brian Pearson, Transit Director
Erin Berzina, Regional Planning Director
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner
Corinne Erickson, Regional Planner
Emily Guthrie, Administrative Assistant II
SIMPCO
SIMPCO
SIMPCO

The Siouxland Regional Transportation Planning Association Policy Board met on Thursday, November 16, 2023, at 9:30 a.m. via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present.

Chair Gary Horton called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

I. <u>Approval of the Agenda</u> – Chair Horton asked if there were any additions or corrections to the November 16, 2023, regular meeting agenda.

Mike Donlin moved to approve the regular meeting agenda as presented, seconded by Vince Phillips. Motion carried with all ayes.

II. <u>Approval of the Minutes</u> – Chair Horton asked if there were any additions or corrections to the September 28, 2023, regular meeting minutes.

Vince Phillips moved to approve the regular meeting minutes with correction as presented, seconded by Mike Donlin. Motion carried with all ayes.

III. <u>Review Monthly Correspondence</u> – Erin Berzina presented pertinent correspondence since the September 28, 2023, Policy Board meeting.

- IV. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u> Policy Board members and staff provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the region.
- V. <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u> Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendments to the FY 2024-2027 TIPs.
 - 1. In the city of Cherokee bridge replacement on East Willow Street and Union Street over Railroad Creek needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$2,500,000 with \$2,000,000 Federal participation (HBP) and \$500,000 SWAP-HBP program in FY 2024.

Bryan Petersen moved to approve the amendment presented, seconded by Mike Donlin. Motion carried all ayes.

VI. <u>Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG)/Transportation Alternative Program (TAP)</u>
<u>Deadlines and application Process</u> – Corinne Erickson presented the STBG and TAP
application process and deadlines for approval noting the TAC made a positive
recommendation. Corinne reported the application distribution date of January 12,
2024, with applications due back to SIMPCO by February 16, 2024.

Vince Phillips moved to approve the application process and deadlines as presented, seconded by Bryan Petersen. Motion carried all ayes.

VII. 2050 Long Range Transportation Plan (LRTP) Outline, Summary, and Public

Engagement – Corinne Erickson presented the board with the proposed outline, summary, and public engagement plan for the update to the LRTP. Corinne noted the TAC made a positive recommendation.

Devlun Whiteing moved to approve the LRTP outline, summary, and public engagement plan, seconded by Bryan Petersen. Motion carried all ayes.

- VIII. **Additional Comments** January 25, 2024 at 9:30 a.m.
- IX. <u>Adjournment</u> Vince Phillips moved to adjourn, seconded by Mike Donlin. Chair, Gary Horton, closed the meeting at 10:00 a.m.