Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) Wednesday, January 3, 2024, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Aaron Lincoln, Chair

Tom Rohe, Vice Chair

Gordon Phair

Jill Wanderscheid

City of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
Plymouth County, Iowa
City of Sioux City, Iowa
City of Sioux City, Iowa

Mike Collett City of Sioux City, Iowa/Airport
Andrew Tramp Dakota Dunes CID, South Dakota

Jason Allen City of Sioux City, Iowa / Transit System

Mark Nahra Woodbury County, Iowa

Lance Hedquist City of South Sioux City, Nebraska
Bob Kratky Cit of Dakota City, Nebraska

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT/GUESTS:

Dakin Schultz Department of Transportation – IA
Daniel Nguyen Federal Transit administration - IA

Dan Bilka All Aboard Northwest

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director	SIMPCO
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner	SIMPCO
Corinne Erickson, Regional Planner	SIMPCO
Dawn Kimme, Regional Planner SIMPCO	SIMPCO
Emily Guthrie, Administrative Assistant	SIMPCO

The TTC met on Wednesday, January 3, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via in person and zoom. A quorum was present. Chair Aaron Lincoln called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. Roll Call/Introductions: Chair Lincoln opened the meeting with a roll call.
- **II. Approval of the Agenda:** Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the January 3, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Tom Rohe moved to approve the agenda presented, seconded by Jason Allen. Motion carried all ayes.

III. Approval of the Minutes: Chair Lincoln asked if there were any additions or corrections to the November 1, 2023, regular meeting minutes.

Mark Nahra moved to approve the meeting minutes as presented, seconded by Gordon Phair. Motion carried.

- **IV.** Review Monthly Correspondence: Michelle Bostinelos provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director's Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report:</u> Members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the following amendments to the FY 2024-2027 TIP.
 - 1. Sioux City Transit System Heavy Duty Bus (35-39 ft) replacement (TPMS #10288) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$900,000 with \$765,000 Federal participation (Sec.5339) in FY 2024.
 - 2. Sioux City Transit System MLK Boilers Replacement (2) 9TPMS #10961) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$150,650 with \$120,000 State participation (PTIF) in FY 2024.

Mike Collett moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Lance Hedquist. Motion carried all ayes.

VII. <u>Draft Passenger Transportation Plan (PTP)</u>: Dawn Kimmel presented the draft update to the PTP. Dawn noted the final document will be brought forward to the March meeting for approval from the MPO.

VIII. MPO Officer Election:

- a. Current Chair Aaron Lincoln
- b. Current Vice Chair Tom Rohe

Mark Nahra moved to cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot to keep the current Chair and Vice Chair as Aaron Lincoln and Tom Rohe., seconded by Tom Rohe. Motion carried all ayes.

- IX. <u>Guest Speaker: Dan Bilka, Co-Founder & President, All Aboard Northwest</u>: Dan Bilka presented the TTC with the vision of All Aboard Northwest noting their group is working to bring economic, environmental and equity benefits to the communities of the greater northwest by advocating and educating the public and elected officials about the needs of rail passengers, especially on a regional scale over state lines.
- X. Additional Comments: Next meeting Wednesday, March 6, 2024 at 1:30 p.m.
- **XI.** <u>Adjournment</u>: Gordon Phair moved to adjourn, seconded by Mark Nahra. Chair Lincoln closed the meeting at 2:35 p.m.