Minutes

SIOUXLAND INTERSTATE METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (SIMPCO) METROPOLITAN PLANNING COUNCIL (MPO)

Policy Board

Thursday, January 4, 2024, 1:30 p.m. SIMPCO, 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City IA & Zoom Conference Call

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ken Beaulieu. Chair Dakota Dunes CID. SD Keith Radig, Vice Chair Woodbury County, IA Mike Tokarczyk Sioux City Transit System **Craig Anderson** Plymouth County, IA Mike Dailey Union County, SD City of Sioux City. IA Dan Moore Julie Schoenherr City of Sioux City, IA Dakota City, NE **Bob Giese**

Kodi Benson City of North Sioux City, SD

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT & GUESTS:

Dakin SchultzDepartment of Transportation – IASarah GilkersonDepartment of Transportation – SDGreg HeitmannFederal Highway Administration – SD

Lance Hedquist City of South Sioux City, NE

Ionathan Mack KCAU-TV

Dan Bilka All Aboard Northwest

STAFF PRESENT:

Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director
Brian Pearson, Transit Director
Erin Berzina, Regional Planning Director
Dawn Kimmel, Regional Planner II
SIMPCO
Corinne Erickson, Regional Planner
Ryan Brauer, Regional Planner
Emily Guthrie, Administrative Assistant II
SIMPCO
SIMPCO
SIMPCO
SIMPCO

The MPO Policy Board met on Thursday, January 4, 2024, 1:30 p.m., via Zoom and in person at SIMPCO, located at 6401 Gordon Drive, Sioux City, Iowa. A quorum was present. Chair Ken Beaulieu called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

- I. Roll Call: Chair Beaulieu opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance and roll call.
- **II.** Approval of the Agenda: Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the January 4, 2024, regular meeting agenda.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the agenda with corrections, seconded by Mike Dailey. Motion carried all ayes.

III. <u>Approval of the Minutes:</u> Chair Beaulieu asked if there were any additions or corrections to the November 2, 2023, regular meeting minutes.

Craig Anderson moved to approve the minutes presented, seconded by Dan Moore. Motion carried all ayes.

- **IV. Review Monthly Correspondence:** Erin Berzina provided an overview of current projects and staff activities outlined in the Director Report included in the meeting packet.
- V. <u>Transportation Improvement Progress Report</u>: The Iowa Department of Transportation and members provided an update on the progress of transportation improvements currently underway throughout the MPO area.
- VI. <u>FY 20242027 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendments</u>: Michelle Bostinelos presented the Policy Board with the following amendments to the FY 2024-2027 TIP.
 - 1. Sioux City Transit System heavy Duty Bus (35-39ft) replacement (TPMS #10288) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$900,000 with \$765,000 Federal participation (Sec. 5339) in FY 2024
 - 2. Sioux City Transit System MLK Boilers Replacement (2) (TPMS #10961) needs to be programmed for a total estimated cost of \$150,650 with \$120,000 State participation (PTFIG) in FY 2024.

Michelle noted a that the TTC made a positive recommendation for approval.

Keith Radig moved to approve the amendments presented, seconded by Dan Moore. Motion carried all ayes.

VII. <u>Draft Passenger Transportation Plan (PTP)</u>: Dawn Kimmel presented the Policy Board with the draft update to the PTP. Dawn noted the final plan will be brought forward at the next MPO meeting for approval.

VIII. MPO Officer Election:

- a. Current Chair Ken Beaulieu
- b. Vice Chair Ketih Radig

Ketih Radig moved keep current officers, seconded by Mike Dailey. Motion carried all aves.

- IX. <u>Guest Speaker: Dan Bilka, Co-Founder & President, All Aboard Northwest</u>: Dan Bilka presented the TTC with the vision of All Aboard Northwest noting their group is working to bring economic, environmental and equity benefits to the communities of the greater northwest by advocating and educating the public and elected officials about the needs of rail passengers, especially on a regional scale over state lines.
- X. Additional Comments: Next Meeting Thursday, March 7, 2024, at 1:30 p.m.

XI.	Adjournment : Craig Anderson moved to adjourn, seconded by Mike Dailey. Chair Beaulieu closed the meeting at 2:36 p.m.