Siouxland Regional Transportation Improvement Program (SRTPA) proposed FY 2020 – 2023 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendment.

The SRTPA Policy Board will be voting on the following TIP amendment at their upcoming meeting on January 23, 2020:

1. Siouxland Regional Transit System (SRTS) needs to program minivan ADA wheelchair equipped vehicle, with video surveillance cameras, for replace of unit 7426 and 7529 for a total estimated cost of $55,000 with $46,750 Federal participation.

The SRTPA TIP is a four year listing of transportation projects which are funded with Federal or State funds within the rural area of Woodbury, Plymouth, Cherokee, Ida and Monona counties in Iowa.  To view the FY 2020 -2023 TIP click here.

The meeting will be held on January 23, 2020 at 9:30 a.m. at SIMPCO, 1122 Pierce Street, Sioux City. The SRTPA Policy Board meetings are open to all individuals. Any persons with special needs requiring a reasonable accommodation to participate in a Policy Board meeting should contact the SIMPCO office at 712-279-6286 at least two (2) business days prior to the Policy Board meeting.

Questions or comments on the proposed TIP amendment should be directed to Michelle Bostinelos, Executive Director 712-279-6286.



Public Notice

Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan Public Comment Period

The Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council (SIMPCO) is developing a Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan for the Iowa counties of Cherokee, Ida, Monona, Plymouth and Woodbury, which includes the unincorporated areas, cities and school districts within each respective county. When complete, the Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan will replace the current County Multi-Jurisdictional Plan for participating counties and their jurisdictions.

The Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 requires that local governments, as a condition of receiving federal disaster mitigation funds, have a mitigation plan that: describes the process for identifying hazards, risks, and vulnerabilities; identifies and prioritizes mitigation actions; encourages the development of local mitigation; and provides technical support for those efforts. While the plan does not establish any legal requirements for the localities, it does provide a framework for natural hazard mitigation planning. The plan identifies hazards, establishes community goals/objectives, mitigation activities that are appropriate for the region, and addresses multiple hazards.

An open period for public comment has been declared to take place beginning October 28, 2019 through November 27, 2019. During this time, the 2014 County Multi-Jurisdictional Plans and the 2019 draft Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan community profiles, mitigation actions and strategies can be viewed at SIMPCO, 1122 Pierce Street, Sioux City, IA, 51105 during scheduled hours of operation or online under Hazard Mitigation Plan – Public Input on the SIMPCO website at

To best address issues that are impacting our residents, the five-county region planning team would like to know your thoughts on natural hazards and some human-caused and biological hazards.  Follow the link  to complete an online survey

Public input on the effects of natural hazards in the Region for consideration in the Regional Hazard Mitigation Plan can be submitted during the established time period to SIMPCO. Comments may be submitted online using link as provided at the above listed website or via email to Dawn Kimmel, Regional Planner, SIMPCO at; via phone: 712.279.6286; fax: 712.279.6920; or mail or in person at 1122 Pierce St, Sioux City IA, 51105.


Public Notice

Public Participation Notice of Proposed Overall

Annual Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Goal


NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, of the Siouxland Regional Transit System’s (SRTS) intent to propose an Overall Annual Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBE) Goal, applicable to contracting opportunities in SRTS’ federally-assisted capital program funded by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) for the federal fiscal years beginning October 1, 2020 and ending September 30, 2023:

DBE Goal 0.0109% of the SRTS federal capital budget.

SRTS’ proposed overall annual goal and its rationale were developed pursuant to the U.S. Department of Transportation’s New Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Program Final Rule (49 CFR Part 26). A statement regarding this proposed goal and how it was established is available for inspection until November 5, 2019 (30 days from the date of this Notice), from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Central Standard Time, Monday through Friday at our principal place of business located at:

Siouxland Regional Transit System

1122 Pierce Street

Sioux City, IA 51105

Written comments regarding the proposed DBE goal calculation process will be accepted until November 20, 2019. Comments can be forwarded to SRTS at the above business address or to Region 7 Federal Transit Administration Office, 901 Locust St., Suite 404, Kansas City, MO 64106, Attention Civil Rights Officer. For further information, write or visit the Siouxland Regional Transit System office or telephone the SRTS’ Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Program Liaison Officer, Curt Miller, at (712) 279-6286.