The Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council (SIMPCO), the third oldest multistate Council of Governments in the nation, was organized as a voluntary association of local governments in 1965. On March 11, 1965, the first meeting was held at the Holiday Inn in Sioux City, Iowa.

The organization was suggested by Cornelius Bodine, Jr. (Sioux City, City Manager) and local elected leaders. The organizational meeting was held on April 15, 1965, in the Sioux City council chambers.

Members at the meeting included:

  • South Sioux City (Mayor Ernest L. Albertsen)
  • Sioux City (Mayor James E. Reeder)
  • Sergeant Bluff (Mayor Lloyd H. Fymbo)
  • Dakota City (Mayor Charles E. Strong)
  • North Sioux City (Mayor Albert Streeter)
  • Dakota County (Commissioner Robert Blessing)
  • Sioux City Planning Commission (James Lepse)
  • South Sioux City Planning Commission (Commissioner Marvin Harris)
  • Woodbury County, Union County, Sergeant Bluff Planning Commission, and North Sioux City Planning Commission were also original members.

Goals at that time included planning a second bridge on the Missouri River and developing an urban transportation plan to comply with the Federal Highway Act of 1962. Since that time SIMPCO, guided by a Board of Directors comprised of city and county-elected officials, has served as a forum for the discussion of urban and rural area problems and opportunities.